Connect with us


All FCB coaches in history



Thomas Tuchel is to replace Julian Nagelsmann at Bayern Munich.

The coaching position at FC Bayern Munich is one of the most coveted in football. In more than 120 years countless names have been allowed to bear this title. Here at SPOX we list all FCB trainers in history for you.

32 championship titles, 20 triumphs in the DFB Cup, 11 German Supercup victories, plus six wins in the Champions League and European Cup, but also numerous other trophies lie in the lavish trophy cabinet of FC Bayern Munich, by far the most successful German football club. It is therefore not surprising that the coaching position in Munich is always accompanied by pressure to succeed.

Weak phases and crises are not tolerated for long, as a number of coaches on Säbener Straße have experienced first-hand. With Julian Nagelsmann it has now caught the next one.

Although the only 35-year-old is with FCB in the quarter-finals of the Champions League and the DFB Cup, but in the Bundesliga after a 1-2 defeat against Bayer Leverkusen handed over the lead to Borussia Dortmund, the club pulled the ripcord and separated from him. Thomas Tuchel, former BVB and Mainz coach and Champions League winner with Chelsea, is to take on his role.

SPOX takes this as an opportunity to list all coaches in the history of FC Bayern. Below is the answer.

FC Bayern Munich: All FCB coaches in history

FC Bayern Munich was founded on February 27, 1900, making it one of the oldest clubs in the country. However, the club only had its first coach two years later, when Dutchman Dr. Willem Hesselink slipped into this role.

It took a few years and coaches before the club from the Bavarian capital was able to celebrate success for the first time. In the 1931/32 season, with Richard Dombi on the sidelines, the first championship title and in 1957 with Willibald Hahn the first DFB Cup win. But at that time, FCB was still a long way from the consistency it is today, and the club’s supporters had to wait more than 35 years for the next championship. In 1968/69 it was that time again – the coach then: Branko Zebec.

During Udo Lattek’s first term of office (03/14/1970 to 01/02/1975) they managed to defend the championship for the first time and also to triumph at European level. Later club legends such as Gerd Müller, Paul Breitner and Franz Beckenbauer ensured the desired results on the pitch. From 1973/74 to 1975/76 they won the European Cup three times in a row.

In the 1980s, the Munich team finally advanced to become the big dominator in Germany. Coach Pal Csernai, Udo Lattek (for the second time) and Jupp Heynckes (first term) secured six championship titles and three cup wins in the 1980s.

The time after that was marked by many changes of coach. In the search for consistency, seven coaches had to step down in the 90s: Sören Lerby, Erich Ribbeck, Franz Beckenbauer, Otto Rehhagel and Giovanni Trapattoni. It wasn’t until Ottmar Hitzfeld that peace returned to the club – and with him came success European level. It was his team, led by Stefan Effenberg and Oliver Kahn, that won the Champions League in 2000/21.

The Swiss is still the coach with the longest tenure in Munich – he worked on the sidelines for 2191 days from July 1st, 1998 to June 30th, 2004. He was succeeded in the summer of 2004 by Felix Magath, who stayed for three years before Hitzfeld returned for a short stint and won the championship for the seventh time (fifth with FCB).

In 2008/09, Jürgen Klinsmann, who was released five rounds before the end, had to admit defeat to VfL Wolfsburg with his team in the battle for the trophy until Louis van Gaal heralded a new era in 2009. In his very first season, the Dutchman missed the treble by just one game when FCB lost the Champions League final 0-2 to Inter Milan.

But the fans didn’t have to wait long for this historic event – the treble – anyway. Jupp Heynckes was German champion, DFB Cup winner and Champions League winner with FC Bayern in 2012/13, for which he later also received the individual award of World Club Coach of the Year.

With Heynckes, the championship series that still exists today, which currently stands at ten in a row, began. Pep Guardiola, Carlo Ancelotti, Heynckes again, Niko Kovac, Hansi Flick and Julian Nagelsmann – all successors at least won the championship, Hansi Flick even led his team to the “sextuple” in the 2020/21 season.

Surname tenure
dr Willem Hesselink 1902 to 1905
Thomas Taylor 1906 to 1909
dr George Hoer 1909 to 1911
Charles Griffith (first full-time FCB coach) 1911 to 1912
William James Townley 1913 to 1921
Izidor furrier 1921 to 1922
James Macpherson Jr. 1925 to 1926
Leo Weisz 1926 to 1928
Kalman Konrad 1928 to 1930
Richard Dombi 1930 to 1933
Hans Tauchert 1933 to 1934
Ludwig Hofmann 1934 to 1935
dr Richard Michalke 1936 to 1937
Heinz Korner 1937 to 1938
Ludwig Goldbrunner 1938 to 1943
Konrad Heidekamp 1943 to 1945
Alfred Schaffer [1945
Richard Hogg 1946
Joseph Pottinger 1946 to 1947
Franz Dietl 1947 to 1948
Alv Riemke 1948 to 1950
David Davison 1950
Konrad Heidkamp and Herbert Moll 1951
dr Max Schaefer 1951 to 1953
George Bayer 1953 to 1954
George Knöpfle 1954
Jacob Streitle 1955
Willibald Hahn 1956 to 1957
Herbert Moll 1957 to 1958
Adolf Patek 1958 to 1961
Helmut Schneider 1961 to 1963
Herbert Erhardt 1963
Zlatko “Tschik” Cajkovski 07/01/1963 to 06/30/1968
Branko Zebec 07/01/1968 to 03/13/1970
Udo Lattek 03/14/1970 to 01/02/1975
Dettmar Cramer 01/16/1975 to 11/30/1977
Gyula Lorant 12/02/1977 to 02/28/1979
Pal Csernai 03/01/1979 to 05/16/1983
Reinhard Juicy 05/17/1983 to 06/30/1983
Udo Lattek 07/01/1983 to 06/30/1987
Jupp Heynckes 07/01/1987 to 10/08/1991
Soren Lerby 10/09/1991 to 03/10/1992
Eric Ribbeck 03/11/1992 to 12/27/1993
Franz Beckenbauer 12/28/1993 to 06/30/1994
Giovanni Trapattoni 07/01/1994 to 06/30/1995
Otto Rehagel 07/01/1995 to 04/27/1996
Franz Beckenbauer 04/29/1996 to 06/30/1996
Giovanni Trapattoni 07/01/1996 to 06/30/1998
Ottmar Hitzfeld 07/01/1998 to 06/30/2004
Felix Magath 07/01/2004 to 01/31/2007
Ottmar Hitzfeld 02/01/2007 to 06/30/2008
Jürgen Klinsmann 07/01/2008 to 04/27/2009
Jupp Heynckes 04/28/2009 to 06/30/2009
Louis van Gaal 07/01/2009 to 04/09/2011
Andries Jonker 04/10/2011 to 06/30/2011
Jupp Heynckes 07/01/2011 to 06/30/2013
pep Guardiola 07/01/2013 to 06/30/2016
Carlo Ancelotti 07/01/2016 to 09/28/2017
Willy Sagnol 09/29/2017 to 10/08/2017
Jupp Heynckes 09/10/2017 to 30/06/2018
Niko Kovac 07/01/2018 to 11/03/2019
Hansi Flick 03/11/2019 to 30/06/2021
Julian Nagelsmann since July 1st, 2021