Connect with us


Who decides Kahn and Salihamidzic’s future?



FC Bayern Munich, Herbert Hainer, Julian Nagelsmann

The supervisory board decides whether CEO Oliver Kahn and sports director Hasan Salihamidzic are allowed to work at Bayern Munich beyond the end of the season. What is it and who is represented in it?

Oliver Kahn and Hasan Salihamidzic have come under criticism because of the poor results this season, the failed transfer policy and the circumstances surrounding the dismissal of ex-coach Julian Nagelsmann. Apart from the duo, the board also includes Jan-Christian Dreesen (finance, will be replaced by Dr. Michael Diederich after the season) and Andreas Jung (marketing).

The supervisory board is responsible for the appointment and dismissal of the executive board. The control committee meets regularly once a quarter. The next meeting is on May 22nd, five days before the last Bundesliga matchday. A decision about the future of Kahn and Salihamidzic could therefore be made before the title decision. On the last day of the game, FC Bayern is a guest at 1. FC Köln, while Borussia Dortmund welcomes FSV Mainz 05.

The Supervisory Board currently comprises nine people, with President Herbert Hainer acting as Chairman. According to the association’s statutes, the incumbent president (currently Hainer), the first vice-president (currently Prof. Dr. Dieter Mayer) and the chairman of the administrative advisory board (currently Edmund Stoiber) automatically belong to the supervisory board. The other members are elected.

Herbert Hainer

The 68-year-old from Lower Bavaria has been President and Chairman of the Supervisory Board since his friend Uli Hoeneß left in 2019. He had previously served on the board for 16 years as vice chairman and in April 2014 as interim chairman. For years, Hainer worked as CEO of adidas, which holds 8.33 percent of shares in FC Bayern AG.

Markus Duesman

Markus Duesmann is one of Hainer’s three deputies. He is 53 years old and CEO of Audi. Just like adidas, the Ingolstadt-based automotive group also holds 8.33 percent of shares in FC Bayern AG.

dr Jan Heineman

Like Hainer, Dr. Jan Heinemann from adidas, where the 50-year-old currently works as General Counsel & Chief Compliance Officer. He also acts as Hainer’s deputy on the FC Bayern supervisory board.

dr Werner Zedelius

dr Werner Zedelius is Hainer’s third deputy. Before Hainer was elected President, Zedelius was also considered a possible candidate to succeed Hoeneß. The 65-year-old made a career at Allianz, where he is currently part of the board. Allianz is not only the namesake of the club’s own arena, but also holds shares of 8.33 percent as a third strategic partner.

Prof. Dr. Dieter Mayer

Prof. Dr. Dieter Mayer is the first Vice President of FC Bayern on the Supervisory Board. Born in Munich (67), he has worked as a notary in his own law firm since 1991.

dr Edmund Stoiber

The former Prime Minister of the Free State of Bavaria is also a member of the FC Bayern Supervisory Board as Chairman of the Administrative Advisory Board. The 81-year-old made a political career with the CSU, which Hoeneß openly supports.

Uli Hoeneß

Hoeneß has been a simple member of the supervisory board since retiring from operational business in 2019, but is still considered the most influential person on the board. Hoeneß once formed modern FC Bayern as manager and then served as president for a long time. The 71-year-old now bears the title of Honorary President.

dr Michael Diederich

dr Michael Diederich has been a member of the Supervisory Board since 2018, but will switch to the Executive Board as Finance Officer on July 1. The 57-year-old is also on the board of UniCredit Bank.

Thorsten Langheim

Thorsten Langheim (57) is a member of the board of directors of Deutsche Telekom, which has been FC Bayern’s main sponsor for many years.